Christian Book Previews Home
Christian Book Previews
Book Jacket

Trade Paperback
148 pages
Sep 2005
Pleasant Word

Weathering the Storms

by Terry Webb

Review  |   Author Bio  |  Read an Excerpt

Review:

Weathering the Storms by Terry Webb is the sequel to Manning the Light. This book is about the struggles of life, including abuse, loss, storms, and friendship. In this book, Louie’s friend Charlie suffers a horrible loss, and when they go to the first World Series game, he gets into trouble in two different ways. Louie is confused on what to do about this, as he hurts for his friend and wants to help him.

Louie and Charlie’s relationship strengthens and ebbs at different points in the story, and Louie still feels like he can rely on Uncle Sam. The most unforgettable experience in the story is the hurricane, which wreaks havoc in a few different ways.

Louie must decide either to leave his friend alone or to help him through his horrific loss. For Louie, the first choice is not really an option; he decides to console Charlie and to be there when he wants to talk.

Louie remains a compassionate young man who wants to help his friend, although in this book he is not as lonely because of a new friend on the island. His mother, Scout, Charlie, Uncle Sam, Aussie, Tommy, and Louisa Ann are all characters in Louie’s life, the first four being the larger characters.

This book started out faster than the beginning of Manning the Light and stayed at least that speed throughout the entire book. I would recommend this book to both boys and girls between the ages of 8 and 13. -- Courtney Carlstrom, age 13, Christian Book Previews.com

Book Jacket:

For readers of Manning the Light, this second novel in the Louie Lighthouse Series is a must read. The story continues in the fall of 1903 with the adventures of 13-year-old Louie and his friend, Charlie. Be with these two characters as they face their fears and find that faith helps them deal with the stormy challenges of nature, sports, abuses, accidents, and relationships.

In Weathering the Storms, meet Louie’s new pet, and go with Louie and Charlie to the First World Series’ games at Boston’s Huntington Park Fairgrounds. Find out what happens when a hurricane hits Two Tree Island and a fishing fleet.