Christian Book Previews Home
Christian Book Previews
Book Jacket

Hardcover
270 pages
Jan 2004
Hyperion

Doing Business by the Good Book : 52 Lessons on Success Straight from the Bible

by David L. Steward

Review  |   Author Bio  |  Read an Excerpt

Review:

With the help of best-selling author Robert Shook (Longaberger: An American Success Story), Steward recounts how he overcame obstacles common to any entrepreneur and also those specific to an African-American in the world of high technology. In a very readable style, Steward links biblical and business principles.

Steward delivers 52 chapters, each initiated by a biblical passage that emphasize their impact on his personal struggle to build a billion-dollar business. Included are:

  • Being a Customer-Driven Company – “In everything do to others as you would have them do to you.” --Matthew 7:12
  • Implementation – “Be doers of the world, and not merely hearers who deceive themselves.” --James 1:22
  • Praise and Recognition – “Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to do it.” -- Proverbs 3:27
  • Good Leadership – “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.” --John 15:12
  • Consistency – “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” --Hebrews 11:1

Christian business owners, mangers and supervisors will all not only benefit from reading this book but also enjoy the informative content and conversational style. -- Judy Waggoner, Christian Book Previews.com

Book Jacket:

In the tradition of Jesus, CEO comes an inspirational business book that will appeal to anyone seeking success.

An indispensable volume that shows how to succeed in business by using the Bible and its lessons as a source of inspiration and guidance.

In 1990, David L. Steward founded his company, Worldwide Technology, Inc., on a shoestring budget and borrowed money, well aware of the high-risk nature of the venture he was undertaking. Despite the fact that he was a novice entrepreneur, he was certain he would succeed. Steward believed intensely that God wouldn't let him down. Doing Business by the Good Book shares the inspiring lessons culled straight from the Bible, that Steward used to build his privately held billion-dollar company into a global information technology enterprise.

"David Steward has come up with an idea that betters the way we live and work. The idea that he embodies is not actually new -- it is a 2,000-year-old philosophy that makes as much sense today as it did back then." --Former President George H. Bush, from the foreword to Doing Business by the Good Book

In Doing Business by the Good Book, Steward delivers 52 chapters, each accompanied by scriptural passages that emphasize their impact on his personal struggle to build a billion-dollar business. Included are chapters such as:

  • Being a Customer-Driven Company
    "In everything do to others as you would have them do to you."  --Matthew 7:12
  • Implementation
    "Be doers of the world, and not merely hearers who deceive themselves."  --James 1:22
  • Praise and Recognition
    "Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to do it." -- Proverbs 3:27
  • Good Leadership
    "This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you."  --John 15:12
  • Consistency
    "Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen." --Hebrews 11:1