Christian Book Previews Home
Christian Book Previews
Book Jacket

Trade Paperback
300 pages
Feb 2004
Tyndale House Publishers

Patience (Brides of the West #6)

by Lori Copeland

Review  |   Author Bio  |  Read an Excerpt


“In Lori Copeland’s final Brides of the West title, Patience, she reveals two stubborn individuals who irritate each other to no end. Patience Smith is mistaken for someone else and kidnapped. Freed from her captor, she searches the wilderness for shelter and comes upon an abandoned gold mine and an orphaned boy named Wilson.

“Sheriff Jay Longer knows his duty when he sees it, and heads out after her. Disguising himself as a miner, he explores the mining towns for any trace of her, not knowing whether she survived the bitter weather. He didn’t expect to find her trying to file a mine claim with an eight-year-old kid in tow. She resists his every suggestion of returning to Denver City since she, her friends, and Wilson need the money from the gold mine. But all miners believe that the Mule’s Head is haunted, and soon Patience has only one person left to turn to: Jay.

“In this sweet and lightly humorous tale, Copeland expertly blends romance between two hurt yet feisty characters. They dominate both the setting and the plot as they struggle with their feelings for each other and the reality of mining life. Wilson’s antics and suggestions add humor to the tale, which is perfect for a late-night relaxing read. Women of all ages should enjoy this light-hearted story.” – Katie Hart, Christian Book

Book Jacket:

In the continuing story of mail-order brides in the successful Brides of the West series, Patience is abducted in a case of mistaken identity. But everything changes when she escapes her kidnapper and stumbles onto a gold mine. Can Patience make her fortune without losing her heart to Sheriff Jay Longer? Copeland's readers will delight in this rollicking story of romance and danger.