Christian Book Previews Home
Christian Book Previews
Book Jacket

Trade Paperback
96 pages
Sep 2005
Gospel Light

Women of Purpose: Focus on the Family Women's Series Bible Study

by  Focus on the Family

Review  |   Author Bio  |  Read an Excerpt


Women feeling lost in the hectic pace of life will find their passions and vision restored in Women of Purpose, offered through the Focus on the Family Women’s Ministry series. The treasures of living are not always found in the end product, according to this book, but are found through the process of deepening relationships with God and other people.

The eight lessons in Women of Purpose offer an abundance of real-life stories, along with Scripture, to lead women into a more intimate period of spiritual growth. One of the goals of the series is to “help women identify who they are, based on their unique nature and in light of God’s Word.”

Each chapter begins with a snapshot into the life of an “everyday woman.” Readers can easily recognize themselves in these scenarios. Next follows a brief look into the Bible for God’s answers, and two more sections offer hope and relevant take-away points for life application.

Like anything published by Focus on the Family, I’m impressed with the high quality and integrity of this tool. The author (Sarah O’Brien) has taken considerable measures to give women a useful tool for small group ministry. Since the book concludes with a leader’s discussion guide, anyone can gather a few friends together and embark on this study – I’m ready to try it myself! – Heather Ivester, Christian Book

Book Jacket:

God has a special purpose for your life!

In a goal-oriented world, it's easy to lose sight of the value of process. And yet, again and again, God reveals that purpose is found in the process. For those waiting for great passions to be played out, Women of Purpose allows God to search their hearts and reveal His purpose and plan in the midst of their dreams. Find out how surrender and release lead to a lightness of heart that allows us to seize the day and receive what God has entrusted to each of us.

This is book 7 of the series.